Fasteners

From Mindworks
Jump to: navigation, search
Use of fasteners in a block.
QR Code link to the website.
Sizes that are available in the machine shop.

Fasteners are used to fix different objects together.

For other types of fasteners not listed, go to http://www.mcmaster.com

Pictures and descriptions derived from McMaster-Carr.

Useful links:

*Not available in the machine shop

Screws and Bolts[edit]

Flat-Head Socket Cap Screw 2015L fasteners flatheadsocket.png Designed for high-tensile strength applications and flush mounting operations. Common in Tools and Dies. Requires a countersink to be flush with the surface. See Drilling and Tapping for more information.
Button-Head Socket Cap Screw 2015L fasteners buttonhead.png Wide bearing surface. Offers a finished appearance. Designed for light fastening operations.
Socket-Head Cap Screw 2015L fasteners sockethead.png High-strength tension applications. Designed for clamping assemblies. Reliable and Durable. Requires a counterbore to be flush with the surface. See How to Use Counterbores for more information.
Hex-Head Cap Screw 2015L fasteners hexhead.png General Purpose Fastening.
Set Screw 2015L fasteners setscrew.png Designed to hold objects in place, such as a pulley on an axle. Often used in conjunction with a key.
Thumb Screw 2015L fasteners thumbscrew.png Adjustable by hand. Use in applications where hand tightening is adequate.
Machine Screw* 2015L fasteners machinescrews.png Available in different head styles. Use in lower strength applications.
Carriage Bolt* 2015L fasteners carriage.png Neck keeps bolt from turning when tightening a nut. Use in applications where the bolt cannot be easily accessed after assembly.
Threaded Rod* 2015L fasteners threadedrod.png Alternative to a bolt. Used to anchor elements to surfaces, mount wheels and pulleys, etc.

Nuts[edit]

Hex Nuts 2015L fasteners hexnuts.png General Purpose Fastening.
Lock Nuts* 2015L fasteners locknuts.png Nylon insert grips teeth to prevent loosening. Can only be reused a few times. Available in various types.
Slotted Lock Nuts (Castle Nuts)* 2015L fasteners castlenuts.png Light duty locking applications. Secured using a cotter pin through a hole in a bolt.
Flange Nuts* 2015L fasteners flange.png Flange distributes load over a larger surface area.
Tee Nuts* 2015L fasteners teenuts.png Use to fasten wood or soft materials using steel bolts.

Washers[edit]

Flat Washer 2015L fasteners flatwasher.png General Purpose Fastening. Spreads load over a larger surface area.
Lock Washer, Spring (Split Lock) 2015L fasteners springlock.png Prevents bolts from loosening under vibrations.
Lock Washer, Star (Tooth Lock) 2015L fasteners toothlock.png Prevents bolts from loosening under vibrations. Use when bolt head can come into contact with the teeth.

Pins[edit]

Dowel Pin 2015L fasteners dowel.png Use for alignment of machine components. Alternate use as a guide for machine parts.
Spring Pin, Slotted 2015L fasteners slotted.png Slot is pressed close when inserted. No flex after installation.
Spring Pin, Coiled (Roll Pin) 2015L fasteners coiled.png Absorb shock and vibration after installation. Higher load capacity than slotted spring pins.
Cotter Pin 2015L fasteners cotter.png Used to hold assemblies, such as bolts and nuts, together. Use with a slotted lock nut.
Taper Pin 2015L fasteners taper.png Use to position components and secure assemblies.

Other[edit]

Rivets 2015L fasteners rivets.png Permanently hold two pieces of material together. Punch through a pre-drilled hole.